Quarters to recognize national parks

miércoles, 24 de marzo de 2010

In a celebration of the USA's splendors, the U.S. Mint today unveils designs for the first five quarters in the America the Beautiful Quarters Program.

According to mint officials, the series will honor 56 national parks and other sites in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. territories.
The first coin, featuring Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas, will be available April 19. For more details on the coins, just double-click the image to the right.
Five quarters will be issued yearly through 2021 in the order in which the featured attraction was established as a national park or national site, the Mint says in a news release.
Dignitaries will unveil the new designs this morning at the Newseum in Washington, D.C.
Said Mint Director Ed Moy: "Through America the Beautiful Quarters coins, we will be transported to national parks, forests and wildlife refuges, part of a vast public land legacy belonging to all Americans—natural and cultural treasures protected for our recreation, relaxation, education, inspiration and transformation."